Changing from dialup modem to router/modem

andynewbould 09:25 14 Jan 09

Appologies if this is a really draft question that I'm asking but I'm far from a PC expert.

I have broadband (Tesco, but I don't think that's relevant) via dial up. So I have a small modem that dials up my connection when I want and stays connected until I disconnect.

I want to stay permanantly connected to the internet via a modem/router. My friend has one of those netgear ones (DG834PN) and his connecttion is always active. I went out to buy one, plugged it all in, made sure all my internet details were correct and hey presto I have the light showing the router sees my broadband. Yet every time I click on my web browser it won't connect to any website.....as if I don't have a broadband connection.

Is this something to do with the fact that I have dial up broadband. Do I have to change to a different type to use a modem/router?

Thanks

Technotiger 09:31 14 Jan 09

click here

Plus you will need a Broadband account with your chosen ISP.

Technotiger 09:34 14 Jan 09
  tullie 09:48 14 Jan 09

As stated,you need a broadband account,not dial up,which is not broadband.

baldydave 10:21 14 Jan 09

Hi,
I think there is a bit of confusion,am i right in thinking you "dial up" by clicking a connect now on your desktop,and you have a usb speedtouch or equivilent modem with 2 lights on it and it plugs in a usb port on your pc,if so you have broadband.
If your phone cable plugs directly into the back of your pc into a card you have dial up.
If you have broadband connect the router via ethernet cable to your pc,go to start/control panel/network connections and make sure it shows a local area connection,if disabled right click and enable this connection,now try and connect to the internet,if no local area connection is found go to control panel/system/hardware /device manager and make sure under network card you have a card displayed and it enabled.

baldydave 10:21 14 Jan 09

Hi,