CDs to MP3 or IPod?

Cymro. 12:25 21 Nov 09

SO WHAT DO YOU GET A WOMAN WHO HAS EVERYTHING?
I was thinking of getting my wife a Sony MP3 player or possibly the IPod or something similar. She has been using a portable CD player for the past few years and so built up a colection of CDs.

I was thinking that I would transfer these on to the new gadget hence the MP3 or the IPod etc. I am new to such things and so have been reading up on them. From what I understand you can transfer CDs to these gadgets but there is a problem that some CDs are protected from coping and so would not work on these newer portable devices.

I have no wish to buy tracks via such places as the Apple site just transfer the CDs we already have. Will I be able to do so or are most CDs protected against me doing so.

Any advice welcome. The husbands among you will appreciate the problem of what to buy the wife for Christmas.

canarieslover 13:03 21 Nov 09

First you will need to rip files to mp3 format. You can use Windows Media Player to do this. In Media Player select Tools, Options and there is a tab for Rip Music. For most compatibility select mp3 from menu and no less than 128kbps for quality, any less and sound starts to degrade quite a lot. You can select a folder that you want the files burnt to and also the format for naming files. Windows Media Player will also connect to the web to pick up data for naming the tracks on the album. This saves you from having to input details yourself.

Cymro. 13:10 21 Nov 09

Right then so far so good
but what about this business of if the CDs are protected from coping on to portable players and any suggestions as to which player to buy, Sonny, Apple or whatever.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 13:43 21 Nov 09

The majority of CDs can be ripped easily.
Its downloaded tracks that are DRM protected from copying to other players.

The only CDs that I have not been able to transfer as MP3 to my PC are those that have a "Video" as the first track.