CDRW just fitted..Win 98 not accessing

Cleton 18:01 11 Jun 04

Just replaced CDROM in Win 98 system, with TXvenus CDRW..but windows message says...
"D: is not accessable device not ready"

So (yes I'm a novice) I tried to find drivers to download, but couldn't find tx venus listed on the sites I tried. I am on slow dial up and 28meg ram machine, and desperate to get family photos off hard drive and on to disc.

Would appreciate simple instructions please.

keith-236785 18:15 11 Jun 04

check that the jumper on the back of the cdrw is set to slave you may have to take out the drive and turn it over to see where master/slave is [generally you have three options, SLAVE or SL, MASTER or MS & CABLE SELECT or CS](if it is on the same cable as your hard drive. master if it is on its own ide cable (wide ribbon cable), make sure you have connected the cable correctly (red strand of the IDE cable should go next to the power plug).

and make sure the bios sees it on startup

should say on the black screen at boot up

Primary Master Hard Drive Maxtor (or whatever yours is)

primary slave CDRom drive.

if it doesnt then come back and let us know.

good luck.

p.s. 28meg ram is a tiny ammount to run windows with. if you can, get some more memory even if its only up to 32 meg.

Diemmess 18:40 11 Jun 04

I hope it you made a typing error, because 28Mb of RAM is almost unworkable............. If you can beg borrow or steal some more anything up to 10 times that amount will transform the speed of your machine.
Beyond 256Mb is less and less benefit/cost.

Ellaine 19:37 11 Jun 04