CD Writer and CD Rom

eljanno 20:08 19 May 03

Hi
I want to install a cd writer in my sisters computer, she already has a cd rom, but I am not sure where to start. I replaced my broken cd rom the other day, but I am still new to the mechanical side of thing's, its not that I dont know what to do but having the bottle to open the case and mess. So I know the basics, but I am not sure wether to add a writer as well as a rom, I need help with that guy's. or just to replace the rom for a writer. The system is win 98. Can anyone help me please.

Scott709 20:30 19 May 03

it depends what you are wanting ur cd writer to do, if u plan on copying lots of cd's it is best to add an additional writer, as this will allow you to copy on the "fly", this means that it will copy each segment of data on one cd and burn it on the other, this saves the need to save the contents af the cd to be copyed to be copyed to the HD, then burnned to cd, if u just have a writer then this means that u will need to copy the contents of the cd to be copyed will need to be copyed to the HD and then back to the writer,

Hope this hepls a little

Scott

Scott709 20:31 19 May 03

it depends what you are wanting ur cd writer to do, if u plan on copying lots of cd's it is best to add an additional writer, as this will allow you to copy on the "fly", this means that it will copy each segment of data on one cd and burn it on the other, this saves the need to save the contents af the cd to be copyed to be copyed to the HD, then burnned to cd, if u just have a writer then this means that u will need to copy the contents of the cd to be copyed will need to be copyed to the HD and then back to the writer,

Hope this hepls a little

Scott

eljanno 21:46 19 May 03

Hi, Thanks for that scott, I know that sorry I may have confused people I want to know how to connect them.
Thanks
Jan

Stuartli 21:49 19 May 03