CD-RW Drive Probelms

beaky1993 20:58 27 Apr 07

I've been using my Samsung SW-240B CD burner for over 4 years now, and I've never had a problem with it, up until now. If I insert a disc into the drive I get the error:

"e:/ is not accessible

incorrect function"

I tried several methods of curing: Right clicking on the drive and trying to enable CD recording under the Recording tab in the drive Properties, with the tab nowhere to be seen. I then tried changing the drive type through the registry, but to no avail. After that, I uninstalled the drive from Device Manager and let Windows redetect it, but this didn't work either. Finally, I set the BIOS to recognize the drive as a CD-RW drive, but this had no effect.

Someone said to me that 4 years is a reasonable life for a heavily used drive, and that I should consider buying a new one. Is there any other method of cure that I can try out, or is my drive goosed?

Thanks in advance,
beaky1993

TOPCAT® 21:52 27 Apr 07

Do you happen to have Roxio Ez cd creator 5 installed? If so, then click here to update the drivers and it should cure the problem. TC.

beaky1993 22:32 27 Apr 07

Hi, thanks for your reply. I forgot to mention in my original post that I've got Easy CD Creator 5 installed, but I've already tried updating the driver, and it didn't help.

beaky1993

TOPCAT® 22:50 27 Apr 07

I've Googled for your problem so hopefully you may find the answer somewhere on click here TC.

Stuartli 23:27 27 Apr 07

A new, fastest to date DVD rewriter (which will also burn to CD media) such as the Sony GA170 costs under £20.

Your Samsung certainly doesn't owe you anything...:-)

beaky1993 21:46 28 Apr 07