CD RW disc problem.

rockton 23:48 15 Sep 05

Can anyone please help?

A friend has given me two CD RW discs and asked if I can find out what’s wrong with them. I haven’t done much writing to CD as I’m quite new to computers and am at a loss.

When I load them nothing happens ( I don’t get the usual window requesting what I want to do) and if I open “My Computer”and hover the cursor over the D drive icon I don't get the usual reading of free and used disc space. If I double click my D drive the window that opens is empty so one would assume there was nothing on the discs. If I right click the D drive and select properties the visual display shows that both the CD’s are full, i.e. all dark blue and states, used space 0 bytes, free space 0 bytes. I then tried to send some files to the discs and each time get a message saying “there is no disc in the drive please insert a writable CD into drive D:\ . My D drive is working OK, I’ve just checked it out with one of my own discs and successfully wrote files to the CD.

What has been done to these two CD RW discs and can they be used again?

Skills 00:47 16 Sep 05

So these are not new cd rw's?

What cd writing software do you have installed? You could try do a full erase of the rewritable.

But rewritables only have a certain lifespan and it could be that these disks have reached the end of theirs

rockton 01:37 16 Sep 05

Thanks for replying. I've just spoken to my friend. The discs are new Sony 650MB CD RW's. He told me he wrote a 640MB file which he had downloaded to the discs and each time he got a message saying that there was insufficient space to write the file unless he????????, he can't remember the exact message but was asked to select "yes" to proceed or "no" to cancel. He clicked "yes". As the first disc wouldn't work, he done another with the same result. He was using Nero.

rockton 01:54 16 Sep 05