cd drive

rachel84 11:56 07 May 06

I was wondering if anybody could tell me how long I can burn and erase a cd on a drive before I risk destroying it? I'm a sound artist doing a piece for my degree show and I want to run three laptops for about ten days in total - roughly six hours each day. If i slow down the write speed as much as possible and give them an hour break each day ( say 2 and a half hours each side) am I still running a huge risk of destroying the drives? I can rotate the computers Im using for the actual show itself but there are a few days where Im being asessed and wont be able to go into the room where they're running. Also does anybody know how expensive it is to replace a cd-drive? for my own lap top its a risk im willling to take but as im borrowing some I will need to replace anything if it breaks. All i hear is hugely expensive - but how huge exactly? Any ideas would be hugely appreciated.

remind 13:04 07 May 06

is it essential they're physical cd's? using a virtual drive would save wear and tear - daemon tools
click here

remind 13:09 07 May 06

a device's expected lifespan under `normal` conditions is called the mtbf. manufacturers must test them to destruction but i've never seen those figures quoted in specs. high cost to replace laptop cdrw's - you could pick up 3 usb CDRW drives and save yourself a lot of money overall if anything were to fail; click here

mtbf; click here

rachel84 13:50 07 May 06