cd burning problem, static and messy copy

Davee75 10:34 08 Jan 03
  Davee75 10:34 08 Jan 03

I have just purchased a sony crx215a1 48*24*48 cd-wr and istalled it into my computer(810lmr 700mhz etc...). the drive is functioning fine. However i have copied a music cd and the copy is filled with static and is incoherent. I am running win 98 but the cd-wr specs requires win 98 second edition (Didn't notice till got it home- doh!)could this be the reason? also the source cd drive is only 12*speed but i lowered the copy speed to that. the programme being used is b's recorder gold 5. PLease note i am a complete burning novice so please excuse my naive'ty.

powerless 10:36 08 Jan 03

Put the burning speed to its lowest and try again.

Also what burning software are you using Roxios Eesy CD Creator or Aheads Nero?

powerless 10:37 08 Jan 03

oops i see now "b's recorder gold 5"

€dstow 11:26 08 Jan 03

"i have copied a music cd". Was it copy protected?

Were you burning "on the fly", that is disk to disk? If so, try copying to your hard drive first. It won't matter then what the speed of the source drive is. Be careful that you don't try to write the disk faster than its recommended speed.

I'm not familiar with your burning software. Does it have a test and write facility? If so, try using that rather than a direct burn.

€d

Davee75 13:47 08 Jan 03

the programme had a simulate phase to the burn which i utilised. and i think i used the 'on the fly' method. As for copy protected i have no idea but it is quite an old cd that i wanted to make a back up of for my car.

€dstow 13:52 08 Jan 03

I wasn't moralising about the copy protection it's just that it may someting like it which prevents you copying. I know that some commercial video tapes produce messy results when you try and copy them, I wondered if this may be similar.

Try doing it with preloading on to your hard drive. Copy speeds are immaterial then.

€d

Davee75 08:09 09 Jan 03