Cataloguing software - advice please

njhux 14:56 28 Oct 03

I'm a university student (yes I know, lazy, bleading off the state etc!) and I've got a large amount of reading to do over the next few years.

Basically I'm trying to keep a computerised record of what I read, so that I can pull up brief notes on each article easily, even in 2 years time. Essentially I need to catalogue the material under various headings and allow a fair bit of information to be recorded for each entry. But I really want to avoid having a large file on my hard drive full of word documents.

Can anyone recommend any software that would be useful?

Thanks

plsndrs3 15:03 28 Oct 03

Using Nero, you can use these similar to a floppy - but they hold more detail. You could then sub-divide the CDs to only hold items within a relevant topic. The only issue is that you would not be able to put an index-style database onto the CD as it would need constant updating, but there is nothing to stop you running a paper-based index alongside if you prefer as this will identify immediately which CD you need to refer to. Another option could be to use a CD-RW first then move it over to a CD-R when it is full.

The only problem with this is lifespan, but this could probaly occur to just about any storage device you try.

Regards,

Paul

IanNiblock 15:07 28 Oct 03

How about an access database?

you could store the name of the article, date that it was read, and notes about the article?

Taran 17:19 28 Oct 03

Any domestic database application is made for this kind of thing.

I'd suggest a variation on the theme of an Access wizard generated file.