Career in web design

slormen 21:20 28 Dec 05

Hi. I've set my heart on a career in web design and was preparing myself to study the CIW master designer course. I'm computer literate but a beginner in web design. I dont want to waste time and money pursuing this path if its not the right one. As im new to web design I feel lost as to where to get started. Would you recommend the CIW master designer course? and could you offer me any additional advice?

Thank you.

mattyc_92 21:27 28 Dec 05

Sorry to destroy your dreams, but it is hard to get into Web Design field....

So I would personally say that it would be a complete waste time, but if you are motivated enough, then you may get lucky

Good luck....

Skills 21:40 28 Dec 05

If I was you I would get some free web design software and have a play around yourself. Theres lots of tutorials on the web and that way you can get a feel for it and see if you like it.

If you have frontpage installed as part of your office suite then you could start there. Theres also serifs webplus 6 which is free click here and NVU click here

If you like it and want to take it further then consider taking a course but as mattyc_92 said its a tough field to get into and theres alot of competition out there.

GroupFC 21:51 28 Dec 05

A couple of threads for you to have a read thro' click here and click here

pauldonovan 22:14 28 Dec 05

As per the above, it is a bit like me saying i've set my heart on being a pop star. I don't have the X factor - I can't sing and definitely don't have the look, unfortunately some careers you are kind of born with.

Can I ask why you want to follow this? I don't think anyone here is meaning to be negative but it sounds a bit from your post like you've plucked it as a career out of thin air, whereas you really out to know that you have artistic and design skills before you start in which case you are quite a way there and just need the technical know-how. Is that your situation?