Can't connect to my Orange Livebox

parksey1972 06:52 12 Jul 06

I need help. I'm trying to connect my Dell laptop to my orange live box. I can't get the livebox to connect wired or wireless. I get to the same point of the installation each time only to be told that the livebox cannot be connected as my firewall may be switched on. I have 2 firewalls on my system, 1) XP's built in firewall (which is always switched off) and 2)Mcafee (which I have totally disabled all antivirus and firewall protection) but still will not connect. As a last resort I phoned the Orange Helpline (or should that be Helpless?)to solve my problem. After being on the phone for 54mins and rebooting my laptop about 10 times I was told that I have a problem with my firewalls not actually shutting down and there was nothing they could do to help.
Can anyone out there help me? I have no knowledge of connecting laptops to routers (but as far I know I'm doing everything that the instructions say). Has anyone out there had any problems like mine? Or can anyone help me were the Orange Experts can't?

recap 08:03 12 Jul 06

To make sure that your Windows Firewall is disabled, go to Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Services/Windows Firewall and disable it from there. This is assuming that you have Windows XP, and that you log in as Administrator.

parksey1972 08:13 12 Jul 06

Thanks Recap
Yes I'm running on XP. I'll check out your way later, the way I have been checking is , Control Panel/Windows Firewall and make sure that the Firewall Off is flagged. At least I have something new to check (that way was not mentiond by the Orange Helpless Line).

Taff™ 12:31 12 Jul 06

I had a similar problem with McAfee and the Livebox. Removing the latter cured the problem. I installed Avast! antivirus and Zone Alarm - both free versions - to protect their computer.

parksey1972 12:50 12 Jul 06