Cant access my router anymore!

MjWoNeR 13:53 03 Aug 06

I have a Netgear WGT624v3 and i was trying to forward a port for Http File Server.
Since i already had a port open for a torrent client it wouldnt accept an other port for an other application on the same ip.
Then the internet went down and after a minute the internet came back up, but this time when i type 192.168.1.1 to enter the router setup it says "Page not found".

Any ideas?

Any help would be highly appreciated!

FelixTCat 14:11 03 Aug 06

MjWoNeR,

Are you on an ethernet connection to the router? If so, try 192.168.0.1 as the setup address.

If all else fails, and you cannot get in, reset to the default settings and start again.

Regards,

Felix

MjWoNeR 14:23 03 Aug 06

FelixTCat ethernet?
Not really sure, i am not that good with networking.

Its wireless though. I tried some of the solutions i saw in other threads like turn it off for some time and various othe stuff but none really worked.

I am going to reset now and post back with the results!

Thanks for the quick reply!

FelixTCat 14:32 03 Aug 06

Hi MjWoNeR,

Sorry, didn't mean to confuse you. There are 2 ways to connect a pc to a wireless router. One is wirelessly, the other is by connecting a wire, called an ethernet able, between one of the ports on the back of the router and the network port on the pc.

It is always preferable to make changes to a router's settings by a wired connection in case the change involves the wireless settings and then it can be difficult to re-establish contact - it's much easier through a wire.

Regards,

Felix

FelixTCat 14:34 03 Aug 06

Hi MjWoNeR,

Sorry, didn't mean to confuse you. There are 2 ways to connect a pc to a wireless router. One is wirelessly, the other is by connecting a wire, called an ethernet able, between one of the ports on the back of the router and the network port on the pc.