cannot remove programme

Roo247 10:47 06 Sep 06

Hi people, i am having a problem removing a programme. Its Motorola Mobile Phone Tools. When i go to uninstall it, there is an error that comes up saying: InstallShield (R) Setup Launcher has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
I dont use this anymore so would like to get it off the system.
Any ideas??

MichelleC 12:24 06 Sep 06

This happens if a file's gone awol. You can delete the files manually by typing in Search Motorola. If they won't delete do itin safemode.

Roo247 12:37 06 Sep 06

Hi MichelleC, thanks for the advice. I have never done anything in safe mode before, could you give me some idea of what to do please?

johndrew 14:47 06 Sep 06

The other option would be to reinstall/repair the software and then uninstall in the normal way.

terryf 15:05 06 Sep 06

Re-boot your system and repeatedly press F8 when you are re-booting, eventually you will come uo with a screen that asks what you want to do, use the arrow keys to move up to safe mode and then next screen windows. Go and get your knitting and wait, eventually you will be allowed to log on (as Administrator), you will get into safe mode but the desktop will be different. Don't worry, go to start> my computer or start>windows Explorer and navigate to C:/program files. find the folder for the prog that you want to delete and click on it and press delete, then go to start>turn off computer>restart

Roo247 15:09 06 Sep 06

thanks people, ok, here goes............I'll be back!!

Roo247 15:23 06 Sep 06

Hi people, back again............and good news!
terryf: was halfway sewing some elastic on the mittens i had knitted whilst waiting to log on as administrator, and it fired up, clicked, deleted and sorted........i think! if i go to add/remove programmes , it still brings mobile phone tools up in the list, but nothing next to it, as in size etc. is it still there?

nob14 15:35 06 Sep 06