Cannot install Modem Router

iscanut2 09:47 17 Dec 06

I am a complete beginner re networks so please help. My system is Athlon 2000, Win XP sp2, loads of memopry and hard disc space. I am trying to install a modem Router on my desktop so I can use my laptop wirelessly eslewhere in the house. I have tried to install a Netgear ADSL router. I have an ethernet card in a pci slot and Windows recognises it saying Device is working properly. The icon in the bottom right hand corner of screen shows " Anetwork cable is unplugged" when I have taken out the network cable. When I plug it in, a green light comes on. I have connected all the router cables including the one to the phone filter ( I am already on ADSL broadband). Prior to running the set up disc I have disabled pop up blocker, aniti virus, anti spam and firewall.The set up starts and then stops, telling me that " No cable or router detected " All the lights on the router are lit up and show no problem. I have had same problem with previous routers, and have exchanged them thinking there was a product problem, but obviously not as the same thing happens in each case. I have disabled the 1394 connection and the Network card I have is a Realtek RTL8139/810x. I have tried this in other PCI slots which I know work but to no avail. Any ideas or help please !!

iscanut2 13:00 17 Dec 06

As the cable or router cannot be found by the install software, is there perhaps a setting in the BIOS that needs to be changed ?

dms05 14:06 17 Dec 06

I'm sure Netgear supply an IP address (form will be 192.168.0.1) that will allow you, with the cable in place, to access the Router and open it's set up page. Look in the manual.

If you can't access the router then either the cable is faulty or the PCI card is (assuming the router is OK). Why not try your laptop with the router? Connect the cable to it's LAN port and try again. It might help to show where the problem is.

iscanut2 14:58 17 Dec 06