cannot get laptop to strart just looping...help pl

bof:) 16:03 17 Apr 08

Hi all, my brother has a laptop which is an Acer Aspire 5100 series Model BL51. Using WinXP SP" about 2-3 years old.

When its turned on you get the following message:

Intel UNDI,PXE-2.0 (build 082)
Copyright (c) 1997-2000 Intel Corporation.
For Realtek RTL8139 (X)/8130/810X PCI
FAST ETHERNET CONTROLLER V2.13 (020326)

(flashing on and off underneath this message you have)

PXE-E61: media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: PXE rom.

Ther are no beeps at anytime, I've tried pressing the F8 button but keep getting the above.

Can you please help me with this? many thanks....bof:)

bremner 16:06 17 Apr 08

Have you checked the IDE cables from hard drive & Optical drives to motherboard

bof:) 16:44 17 Apr 08

hi bremner, unfortunately as its a laptop, I have no experience of taking it a part. I have however found that pressing the F2 button gives me the option to restore the laptop.

As there appears to be no option of using a restore disk, (my bother does not think he ever had one) I can from the BIOS reset to default settings. Should I attempt to do this?

bof:)

bof:) 17:06 17 Apr 08

Hi all, found I this site:

click here

on which it was suggested you set the laptop back to its 'default' settings. I did this and tried to get into safe mode and failed. I rebooted the laptop and it said did I want to run normally? I pressed ...yes.

PC ran a scandisk followed by the logon page and then straight back to the original message I posted in my first posting.

So now back to square one it seems :-( can anyone help please?

bof:) 17:31 17 Apr 08

Hi all, progress so far, here is the original 'Booting' order as shown in the laptop BIOS:

1 IDE0 TOSHIBA Mk1 r3tgax.....
2 IDE1
3 SATA
4 PCI BEV:Realtek bootagent
5 USB HDD:
6 USB CDROM:
7 USB FDD:
8 USB KEY: