Cannot connect Laptop wirelssly to BY Voyager 2091

etlcnes 14:51 28 Apr 06

Hi there, firstly I am new to networking so no big words please.

I have just u[graded by BT Internet set up and install BT voyager 2091 on my desktop via ethernet cable. This was done without any hassle at all - too good to be true I thought, how right I was as now I come to connect my Sony Vaio wireless enabled laptop to my new network. Insert the CD, select add additional device, wireless device, and follow the instructions religously. Gets to the point where set up tries to detect router and it cannot detect router and set up effectivley stalls. Check in the Wireless Netork Connections and BTVoyager network is there excellent signal, and showing as connected but still 'Acquiring Network Address'. Cannot access the internet, even with ethernet cable plugged into laptop to router. By online help and I spent 9 hours on this yesterday without success, thier telephone help line just hung up on me when it got too tough for them so any help anyone can provide appreciated.

Mad Mick 15:13 28 Apr 06

I have had lots of trouble with BT wireless modem/routers. If you haven't already tied them Voyager helpline on 0870 243 3204 might be the one to try

etlcnes 15:51 30 Apr 06

Will give them a try

wobblymike 06:36 01 May 06

"Cannot access the internet, even with ethernet cable plugged into laptop to router."

This is pretty significant - I suggest you go back to basics. Uninstall whatever software you have installed on your laptop for the router/modem. Connect your laptop to your router/modem via ethernet - do you get the 2 TV icons come up in your notification area?

etlcnes 08:37 01 May 06

Thanks for the response - I've tried that and get the same result with the two computers icon in the system tray showing apparnnt connection with the same symptoms as above

Hertz Van Rentyl 10:56 01 May 06