can you save installed xp sp1 to cdrw

pookie 12:50 23 Jul 03

can you save downloaded service pack 1 and other installed updates to cdrw before a format and reinstall of xp is done?

many thanks

P

jimv7 12:52 23 Jul 03

Yes you can click here

dfghjkl 22:36 23 Jul 03

i am a bit of a novice when it comes to copying but how can this be done? sorry to impose,

DieSse 23:14 23 Jul 03

No, you can't , not after it has been installed. What you CAN do is download it and save it then and there, for install at a later date.

When it's installed, the updated files are just some of the many Windows files, there is no way you can seperate them out.

powerless 01:40 24 Jul 03
  rsturbo 02:09 24 Jul 03

norton ghost 2002 or above to create an 'image' of your hdd its easy and very useful

temp003 04:05 24 Jul 03

Note that the download of SP1a for "express installation" is only a small initial download. When you execute the file, you need to maintain your internet connection, and SP1a will scan your computer to decide what else needs to be further downloaded.

If you want the full download (in the event of future reinstalls), choose the "network installation". It will still only install those components specific to your computer, but the whole thing is well over 100 MB (which is OK if you have braodband).

Note also that SP1a does not contain the java virtual machine. You'll need to download and install it. click here

In future, you can turn off Automatic Updates, go to the Windows Update page, click Personalise Windows Update, and tick the box for displaying Windows Update Catalogue. Click Save Settings. This will appear as an extra item on the left near the bottom. Let Windows Update scan your computer for necessary updates, then click Windows Update Catalogue and search for the relevant updates. You can then save the downloads to your hard drive for future installations.