Can workgroups 'overlap'?

RockBrighton 11:06 01 Apr 06

Hi.

I'm a newbie with very little understanding of home networking so I hope I'm posting to the right place ...

Is it possible to use one computer to connect to the Internet (using it for that purpose and printer sharing only) and for, say, 3 independent LANs to share its Internet Connection but not be members of the same workgroups and therefore invisible to each other?

I'd find it easier to draw a diagram to explain my question (though don't know how to here!) but using letters the workgroups would look like this:

LAN/Workgroup 1: Computers A1, A2 and Z(>Internet)

LAN/Workgroup 2: Computers B1, B2 and Z(>Internet)

LAN/Workgroup 3: Computers C1, C2 and Z(>Internet)

where computer Z just provides/shares the Internet connection and printer and is common to (and can be seen by) all workgroups, but networks 1, 2 and 3 can't see or share files with each other.

The operating system is xp pro sp2.

Apologies if this is the dumbest question in the history of networking but I find the subject very confusing!

Thanks.

Smiler 11:52 01 Apr 06

This should be posted in the networking forum methinks.

RockBrighton 11:59 01 Apr 06

OK - sorry. I'll copy and paste it there and just hope I understand any replies! How do I delete this post; do I just check 'Resolved'?

Forum Editor 12:04 01 Apr 06

why would you want to do this in a home environment?

For a start, you would be far better off using a router for internet access - that way you wouldn't need to have any one machine running in order for others to access the internet.

As far as separation goes, if you do this you'll be involved in separate IP address ranges, and it can get fairly complicated. Unless you have a specific reason to do otherwise I recommend that you run a single LAN. You could always use firewalls to block access from specific IP addresses, but I've never seen a home network where it was necessary.

Forum Editor 12:05 01 Apr 06

now.