Can u recomm good, inexpensive webdesign software?

I am new to web page design. I currently use Netscape composer on a WYSIWYG bais, although it doesn't always work out that way!
I have seen recommendations for Front Page 2003 but at £100, it is a bit pricey for what I currently want. Can anybody recommend some less expensive software, that doesn't require knowledge of HTML ?
Thanks

Taran 12:58 29 Sep 05

Nvu is free but for the time to download it: click here

It's a pretty good program and produces clean code for the most part.

There have been one or two problems with the built in FTP publishing feature but since it is free to begin with and since the issue(s) seem to have been resolved you really can't argue with it too much.

Check out magazine covermount CDs. They often carry full version mainstream web authoring programs that are a couple of versions old. NetObjects Fusion has featured on several magazine covermount CDs and it is as good a place as any to start.

You can download a 30 day trial of Dreamweaver from the Macromedia site but I'd suggest you stay away from it for now. 30 days with a program like Dreamweaver doesn't really even allow you to scratch its surface and it isn't the simplest program to get to grips with anyway.

Try Nvu for now and browse around computer magazine cover CDs to see what you can find.

ade.h 14:16 29 Sep 05

Dreamweaver comes with a professional-orientated price as well. At least Net Objects Fusion is a reasonable £120 (if you shop around). It's fairly easy to learn, a pleasure to use once you're accomplished with it, and the results are quite error-free.

Thank-you, I shall try NVU and look for cover issues of older versions of Netfusion. I have also just found a copy of Serif Web Design 8, so will look at that too.

ade.h 16:24 29 Sep 05

You can download a trial of Fusion 8 from the Net Objects site. click here

ade.h 16:26 29 Sep 05