Can an SWF streamed file be run automatically?

gazmania 22:29 21 Feb 04

Hello all. I am a novice on this sort of thing. I want to run a tune automaticallly when my web page is opened. I've converted the file to SWF in order to stream it. I think it has to be linked with a shockwave link but i'm not sure. Can any experts out therer tell me how to do it?

Taran 01:48 22 Feb 04

Audio on web pages is one of my biggest pet hates. Not everyone has a fast web connection and many people keep their speakers either low or off. Now that I've said that, here we go:

A Flash file can be set to play on load, but it is not the ideal may of delivering web audio. About the best overall method is to save your audio file[s] as midi files which give pretty good sound quality and relatively small file sizes, then embed them into your page source code as follows:

<bgsound src="location of the file in your web folder on the web server" autostart="true" loop="1">

The loop="1" means it will play only once then stop and the autostart="true" is pretty obvious.

<bgsound src="location of the file in your web folder on the web server" autostart="true" loop="-1">

This one has a different integer applied to the loop instruction. You can either use any positive number: 1 plays a sound once, 2 plays it twice and so on, or you can set the loop to ="true" or ="false". Setting it to a negative number as in loop="-1" is the same as typing the word infinite. It will loop the sound until the page has been left.

<embed src=""> is another method of putting soundfiles into your web pages.

Now, Internet Explorer likes the <bgsound> tag and NetScape likes the <embed> tag.

There are ways of scripting an "if, else" statement into your page so that if Internet Explorer is detected your soundfile launches using <bgsound> else if NetScape is detected the sound will play using the <embed> tag.