Can Registry Mechanic damage your computer?

kull34 23:27 25 Sep 05

I have been given a copy of Registry Mechanic version 5 which a friend bought but didn't install. Apparently someone at work told him it would damage his system by incorrectly removing entries from the registry.

I installed it this evening and it found 157 problem entries which I let it fix as it made a back up in case of future problems. I must admit to being apprehensive about this as 157 problems seems excessive. Or is it?

Could anyone with experience of this program offer any advice?

Thanks.

p;3 00:08 26 Sep 05

I have no experience of the program but would be useful to know what your windows operating system is please; and I for one would not go anywhere near the Registry unless I knew exactly what I was doing with it ( which I do not); of interest, does your computer still seem to be functioning properly?hopefully someone who has experience of the program will come along and enlighten us both:))

LastChip 00:12 26 Sep 05

Putting it bluntly, any program like Registry Mechanic can damage your computer. Not in the physical sense, but sometimes registry entries are incorrectly deemed as being obsolete, when in fact they are needed.

Having said that, 157 problem entries is not necessarily excessive. Windows and it's associated programs are notoriously bad at cleaning their debris when un-installing, and I have seen significantly more entries than that on some machines that needed cleaning out. (over a thousand in one case).

These cleaning type programs do have a place in your armoury, but just be a little bit careful on what you allow to be removed.

kull34 00:42 26 Sep 05

Thanks for your replies. I am using XP Pro and had no known problems on my computer. Everything still appears to be functioning OK but I am going to restore the back up RM made as I am not very happy in case something has been removed which shoudn't have been.