Can i burn XVID to DVD or do i have to convert it?

jon_hoggy 21:42 09 Feb 06

Hi. I have an XVID video file that i tried to burn to DVD with Nero Vision Express 2. It previews fine (after i add chapters etc) then when you set it away it goes on and on and eventually i get a warning that my hard drive is nearly full, and sure enough it is and it crashes (assuming that its the temporary stuff its creating). As it played/previewed no problem i thought it would work. Should i be converting it to an avi file before burning ? Sorry i'm fairly new to the process, its just one problem after another!!

User-312386 21:44 09 Feb 06

No you have to either convert it to .VOB files or an ISO image

jon_hoggy 22:51 09 Feb 06

I wonder why the preview works then... (?) Im wanting to save it with a working menu and chapters, can i not do this with an .avi ?

ashdav 00:28 10 Feb 06

An AVI file is a raw video file ie. it is not compressed. It can be huge !
DivX or Xvid is a method of compressing an AVI file without too much loss of quality.
Personally I've found Nero is not too good at creating DVDs (as in videos) but is great at everything else.
I would strongly recommend you use TMPGenc plus 2.5 to convert your DVDs from your source file.
It's free for 14 days.
After this use TMPG DVD Author 1.6.
This is free for 30 days.
They can all be obtained from click here

A guide to using them is here click here

ashdav 00:36 10 Feb 06

Just ignore the bit that says select NTSC (tht's for the US) If you're in the UK select PAL.

ashdav 00:45 10 Feb 06

just to add to the fun,there's more info here click here

Not much mention of Nero by the way. Most of it is freeware.
Have fun

jon_hoggy 07:56 10 Feb 06

Thanks i'll check that info out. Problem is i already paid for this Nero software and guide indicates it should work. This is part of the failure report (space should not be a problem, i have 160GB free) ...
ERROR:
cause: 58 (disk_full)
source: _VOBS