Camcorder to PC

bruno 17:10 01 Sep 06

My friend has a Time Platina series PC with a high spec,on XP home.He also has a five year old Panasonic VZ9 camcorder which records on cassettes.He wants to save some of his tapes to PC.He has a t/v card on his PC with red,yellow and white phono plugs and S-video.I know nothing about camcorders so am unable to help him,but I am sure many of you here can.Is it possible to do this,if so what gear does he need to get?

carper 19:23 01 Sep 06

I am no expert but I would have thought that a five year old camcorder would probably be analogue rather than digital. My grandson has a JVC camcorder and contacted the makers for instructions. The parts that he needed to download to his PC would cost around £90 so he decided it wasn't worth it and justs records to ordinary tape. Hope this helps. Regards Carper

Totally-braindead 19:28 01 Sep 06

I also am not an expert. Having said that, if the camcorder and the tapes are analogue then its so time consumming and the results can be a bit dissapointing that I don't consider it worth the effort.

What the simplist thing to do is is buy a standalone DVD recorder and record from the camcorder to the DVD recorder. Its as simple as pressing play on one and record on the other. Anyone can do it. Standalone DVD recorders are no longer expensive and its so much easier. If you don't want to spend any cash then ask your mates, chances are one of them will have a DVD recorder in there living room.

bruno 20:48 01 Sep 06

I think it is an analogue one myself,even though it says "digital processing"on the side.I have a VHS back-up programme called IDIGICON which I have never used yet.I thought I might give it a go when I have read up on it.I intended to try copying some VHS tapes I have,using my VHS recorder.
That is an interesting idea using a DVD recorder.I have one myself,and I had not thought of that.I will give that a try as well.