WaiKent 14:00 29 Oct 03

hi i need to buy some network cables and was told to buy cat5 for my network which connects pcs to the router. whats the difference between a patch cable and a crossover. or can someone recommend something that will be more reliable. im new to networking.

WaiKent 14:22 29 Oct 03

and also what does a patch cable mean?

Sir Radfordin 14:34 29 Oct 03

A cross over cable can be used to connect two computers without using a hub. The wires go in one order at one end and the reverse (crossed over) at the other end.

(I think!) Patch cables are normally short cables that are used in patch pannels. In an office you would have a whole range of patch pannels and would have to 'patch' in various network connections to the right point.

Ebuyer (click here) do some fairly cheap CAT5 cable that will suit your needs. Since you are using a router you do not need cross over cable.

WaiKent 14:38 29 Oct 03

i dont know which to choose as there are some patch cables and some other form of them. found this one UTP CAT5 Patch Cable RJ45 20m for 8.46 wonder if it is okay to use?

Djohn 14:39 29 Oct 03

click here Have a look here for the difference between Patch Crossover and straight through cable. When I asked "Maplins for a CAT 5 straightthrough RJ11 modem cable, they said that I would be better off with the standard crossover cable and supplied a 5 metre one for me.

Sir Radfordin 16:06 29 Oct 03

This will do the job for you:

click here

Djohn - is your point that Maplins sold you the wrong thing :-?

SEASHANTY 16:12 29 Oct 03

Connecting PC's directly to the router you need straight through RJ45 cables cat5 minimum spec or higher. Patch cables are straight through cables.
The 20 metre UTP cat5 cable you mention will do fine.

Wilham 16:20 29 Oct 03

I found a 3 metre patch was provided in-the-box with the Airplus Xtreme G2.4GHz Wireless BB Router I bought a month ago. No mention in the ad,- so I needlessly bought another.