Cable connections inside my computer

mec13 08:27 13 Jul 05

I am a mechanic by trade, so I like to see how things work. I plucked up courage opened my computer to 'have a look inside'. I noticed that 'one' of the two wide ribbon cable (not sure what they're called) was quite taught between its connection on the main board, and one of my dvd/cd drives. I could solve this by swopping round the ribbon cables connection, which would give it a bit of slack.

The other ribbon goes to my 'hard drive'.

As both ribbons come from the same colour connections which are 'side by side' on the main board, I presume this would be ok'

My machine is a 2yr old 'Time'xphome sp2 computer.

I'll add that My computer has an 'intermitant' problem, my dvd/cd drive disapears sometimes, which incidentley is the same one with the taught ribbon cable connection to it. This is really the reason why I opened my box to 'have a look' in the first place.

I,ve entered this posting into the 'absolute beginners' section as a responce at this level is more to my suiting, and give's an indication of my level of computer knowledge.

woodchip 11:40 13 Jul 05

The ribbon cables can be up to “40mm long” over this can effect signal, and should be 80 wire for the latest drives, old type are 40 wire. so it may be a good idea to fit a new one after checking the length. You can changes connectors on the Drive end to middle connector on same cable, but not cable to cable

Wak 12:00 13 Jul 05

Hi, the two wide ribbon cables are called IDE cables.
Each cable is connected to the mother board and will most likely have two connectors for equipment, one at the very end and one about halfway down. This is so that you can have two pieces of equipment (one as Master and one as Slave) connected to the same cable, possibly a hard drive (as Master) and a CD Rom Drive (as the Slave unit).