Cable broadband, xp on standby and firewall

cdb 16:48 17 Feb 03

When you log into xp it starts all the programs and when you log out it shuts them down. When you're logged out is the firewall still doing it's job or is it shut down too? ie can anyone hack into your machine under these circumstances on cable broadband?

cdb 22:48 17 Feb 03

anyone?

VoG™ 23:07 17 Feb 03

A very good question.

I assume not since nothing is running.

KrySTaL-KoDE 00:02 18 Feb 03

That's a really good question there

Okay,

I'm no security expert, but this is what I think:

If you've enabled Fast User Switching on XP and you switch users, everything is still running at large there, just as if you've left it turned on. It's like locking the computer in Windows 2000.

If you've completely logged out, the firewall that's running on your account is shut down along with all other programs. Network connections are closed as well, so you're offline and safe.

I really apologise if I'm wrong here, since I'm just another end user. If i'm wrong, please someone correct me.

powerless 00:36 18 Feb 03

When you first turn on your computer all off the programs you have selected to run will run, plus all the other windows processes.

When you connect to the internet your open a door. The firewall will block and allow traffic to pass through the door.

When you log off your internet connection is automatically disconnected by windows therfore you close the door. So no trafiic regardless of firewall, cannot pass through.

When you log out the internet connection is not active, you are not connected to the internet.

"can anyone hack into your machine under these circumstances on cable broadband?" - Nope

If they could Windows would not be very good.

accord 08:30 18 Feb 03

Powerless
The lights on my cable modem are still flashing and dancing around even with computer turned off as the modem still has power to it and the cable connected. that tells me that the modem is still active.