C to an F

nsmith 12:02 22 Oct 07

My (C) drive is currently running with only 2.67 GB of free space left. A friend just installed and formatted an additional hard drive. I am in the process of uninstalling some programs from my (C) and reinstalling them to my (F). When I do this, I recheck my (C) drive and the space still reads 2.67 GB. People have suggested that I simply use my new hard drive to store my document files etc., and not install programs on it, but all of my document files are on disks as it is. My kids have taken over my computer and I have nothing left of my own on it. Their iTune and other programs are consuming my space. I want all of their things on this new hard drive. Do I have to have an operating system on my new (F) drive... or do I already since it was reformatted? Also, if I need an OS on my (F), can this be done without my having to take apart my tower again? As you can tell, I am a beginner here. How can I see that space is freed up on my (C) drive, without spending any more money on this?

brundle 12:09 22 Oct 07

Use Spacemonger to see what is taking up the most space; click here

Taff™ 12:29 22 Oct 07

This is a continuation of another post click here

In my opinion, you should leave your original C drive with all the programs on it and the OS. Use the new drive purely for data. If necessary create specific folders for each of the kids and make sure that they alter the default storage folders for iTunes to F:\Kiddy1\Music & F:\Kiddy2\Music etc.

If you are using XP make sure each user, you and the kids have separate User login`s. This will make the process easier and also provide you with a certain amount of privacy. Your documents will be in separate folders to theirs for example.