Buying a Laptop. Which CPU?

I'm new to laptops and was wondering what difference the CPU would make as this seems to affect the price. My usage would be mainly as a home office dealing with photographs (Adobe Photoshop).
Out of the 3 CPU's (celeron, centrino and AMD) I know nothing about performance and more importantly reliability.
Any help appreciated.

Yoda Knight 12:20 04 Oct 05

Personally I prefer AMD, lower prices.

J B 14:06 04 Oct 05

AMD. just as good as Intel in my estimation. Also they run cooler and some chips are quite fast. J.B.

amonra 14:27 04 Oct 05

Celeron chips are very power hungry, avoid if possible.

GANDALF <|:-)> 14:28 04 Oct 05

The CPU will make no difference. I use a Dell Inspiron with a Celeron 1.4 chip and it copes well with photoshop 7 and Office XP. Go for the cheaper chip and spend any extra on an external HD for backup/storage.

G

jack 14:49 04 Oct 05

As with Gandalf -IMHO Choice of CPU at this level is unimportant -since all laptops are designed as a package and given the brand and your budget - you get what you are given.
I sometimes wonder if we do not all get a little bogged down with all the technicalities.
OK OK I await review writers and other now to burn my ears off[or eyes out]!

woodchip 15:21 04 Oct 05

Cheap as chips click here

Skills 15:23 04 Oct 05

Centrino isn't a CPU either its an intel package of intel chipset, wireless built in and an intel processor.

woodchip 15:28 04 Oct 05

It is a CPU+ click here

woodchip 15:30 04 Oct 05

The above link I have given is a Celeron M cpu

interzone55 16:23 04 Oct 05

A more important choice than CPU is the keyboard, some of the cheaper laptops have very poor keyboards that flex in the middle. If I were you I'd pop round to PC world and try a few out to see which keyboard works best for you.