buying a dell

jillions 22:21 17 Dec 05

hello
i will be buying a new pc after xmas probably a dell as i have heard good things?
i am a novice with computers and need some advice the pc will be mostly used for digital camera work printing ,internet ,downloading music etc
my wifes course work ,the odd game sims etc and later on my own website what would be my requirments on a new system i dont want to have to replace it for a while
also i may get a reasonable priced lap top do dell do deals :-)
also do microsoft office ,front page etc some with the packages or are they extras
thanks for your time

SANTOS7 22:43 17 Dec 05

Hi jillions (is that quite a lot) you have missed out one important piece of info, How much do you want to spend, give us a budget and maybe we can point you in the right direction...

jillions 22:49 17 Dec 05

doh!sorry
around £800 for the pc but hoping to get a deal for around £1100 for a decent pc and lap top
cheers

jillions 22:52 17 Dec 05

sorry also would like to be able to write cd,s etc on both

spuds 23:21 17 Dec 05

Buying a Dell can be a little daunting regarding pricing. Dell have an habit of offering the same specification machine with various discounts, depending on the advertisement and voucher codes.The same rule applies to telephone sales, as the salesperson have certain targets, and depending on the target they have achieved, they can offer better or worse deals. Don't get disappointed in what I have stated, but you can get Dell savvy as time goe's on.So do not buy on first choice, but select with care.

Having stated that, Dell offer first rate machines with very good specifications, but upgrading and configuring the machine via Dell can run a little expensive. Best to stick with basics and the best offers.

The Dell Dimension range is a very good starting point, with the 1100 having good discounts at present.

SANTOS7 23:26 17 Dec 05

Have you actually been to dells website
click here