buying the best 2.5 external hard drive for beginn

oldandgrey 10:57 13 May 07

I am quite a novice at these sorts of things. I am a volunteer secretary for a v. small charity and following absolute disaster when both my hard disk and slave failed, thus losing me 7 years of work (having backed up all to slave thought I was ok - shows I'm a novice) I now need a 2.5 external hard drive. Unsure which of my ports is USB2 although I see in Device Manager there is one - but of course I have printer, scanner etc runing from USB already. I am considering 160-250GB but having searched the web for many hours am so confused as to which to buy. I need idiot proof software etc. Please can anyone help

johnnyrocker 11:00 13 May 07

click here will provide all the help you need.

johnny.

Probabilitydrive 11:29 13 May 07

"...losing 7 years of work.."! quite a loss. I would try recovering data from these hard drives. There are programmes, which are able (with varied success) recovering corrupted data.

External hard drives are plentiful and have recently quite dramatically fallen in price. Its a personal choice, which external HD suits best your needs. I have a "My book" Western Digital external HD 250. Its quiet, reliable and even looks like a book..;-)

Finally you might consider purchasing an USB hub to get all your other peripherals connected.

oldandgrey 14:21 13 May 07

Hi

Thanks for help I am now researching the larger (physically) models as it seems I would be better off with a 3.5 rather than 2.5 as it will run off the mains and not drain the pc

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 15:04 13 May 07

both my hard disk and slave failed

very rare for two drives to fail at the same time, can you give further details as we may be able to recover work from the drives

oldandgrey 15:22 13 May 07

Thanks Fruit Bat