Burning home movie onto DVD-R

spider9 11:44 15 Mar 05

I have a new DVD writer and use Pinnacle Studio9 to capture/edit/make movie.
Can someone help me by explaining (as I'm a novice!) whether I will be able to add more 'clips' on the DVD-R disk later, or will the disk be closed after the first clip recorded.
I have heard conflicting views and want to have some idea before I start manufacturing coasters!

Any advice gratefully received - thanks.

Completealias 11:52 15 Mar 05

Depends if you don't finalise the disk then you should be able to write to the free space left on the disk if you do finalise thou you won't b able to. You'll need to look through the settings to see if you can leave the disk unfinalised

Yoda Knight 11:53 15 Mar 05

as long as u dont finalize the disk, you can add to it later

TomJerry 12:14 15 Mar 05

you can write multi-session Data DVD, but I do not think that multi-session Video DVD will work. Even if you can do it, you dvd player may not be able to play it.

Just buy more blank DVD-Rs, good quality ones only costs less than 30p if you buy bulk 25+, it is really no point to waste your time.

fazer 12:25 15 Mar 05

I use Studio 9 and I'm pretty sure that as soon as you ask the programme to write to a DVD, then the whole process, including finalising the disk, is taken out of the users hand meaning you can't stop Studio 9 finalising.

However ! There is the option in Studio 9 to format the video footage (as you would if you were going to burn to DVD)and instead of burning it to disk, it allows you to save it to your hard drive. The rationale for this option is to allow you to archive several formatted video clips before committing them all to disk but more importantly, it allows you to make as many DVD copies as you want.

Hope this helps.

€dstowe 13:11 15 Mar 05