Burning CD's From Audio Tapes and LP's

Franknferter 20:18 12 Apr 03

I have installed Nero V 5.5 burning software and can copy and compile CD's from other CD's.

Question: What equipment do I need or how do I make a CD from my Hi-Fi audio tapes and LP's.

I'm new to CD burning so please keep your replies simple.

Tj_El 21:00 12 Apr 03

have a look at this link: click here

I hope it give you all the detail you require.

Regards
Tj_El

toxin 21:07 12 Apr 03

Hi Frankenferter!

The first thing you need is a cable to connect from your HiFi to your sound card, you will probably need, (depending on the sockets on the hifi) a cable with two rsa plugs at the hifi end and a 3.5mm jack plug at the sound card end.

Any good computer shop should stock these.

When connected you can use the wave editor in Nero to record the track as a wav file to your hard disk, and when you have about 27 tracks, this should be sufficient to burn the compilation using the "Disk at Once" method.

Use a 44khz rate and a 16 bit depth, this will give you a file of some 30mb in size.

When you burn, if you want a high quality disk,keep your burn speed down to 8x or 16x; any higher and you may get problems which will not be apparent until you play the disk in your cdr or hifi.

Nero will convert the file to cda, and then if you are short of HD space, you can convert the file to an mp3 or wma, both of which will reduce the file size.

Hope this helps, if not come back and i'm sure more knowledgeable chaps than I will be able to help.

Toxin.

daba 21:17 12 Apr 03

You will need to record to your hard drive from the 'line in' socket on your PC.

Don't know if Nero has 'line-in' recording, as I use "MusicMatch Jukebox", and I commend it.

I assume your stereo or hi-fi system has a 'line-out' socket. in which case just connect line-out from your stereo to line-in on your pc audio sockets.