Building Your Own Pc ? Hard ?

Shutt1e 12:40 19 May 07

I am wondering wether or not i should build my own pc as i heard its alot cheaper than having to buy it all as one.
I have never done anything like this before and am wondering wether it would be to complicated.
I saw a guide on Howstuffworks.com and it seemed pretty straightforward ect.
And how do you go about putting an OS on the hard drive and installing all the drivers.

Help would be much appreciated

thanks

MAJ 12:45 19 May 07

It used to be less expensive to build your own PC, but not anymore with the price of PCs tumbling. Although you can still get great enjoyment and satisfaction from building your own.

Shutt1e 12:48 19 May 07

oh right well were is the best place to get a pc thats cheap, can handle internet and word processing ect, well and has at least a 64mb dedicated gfx my budgets about 250-350

thx

MAJ 12:50 19 May 07

Dell probably. click here

Legolas 12:51 19 May 07

On the first point it maybe was at one time cheaper to build your own but with some of the computer prices now it no longer is. Having said that I have built my last 4 systems and although it can be frustrating I wouldn't say it was difficult.

If you have the itch to do it I would give it a go and if you get into difficulties you can always come here and get great advice.

Anything that needs drivers will either come incorporated with the OS or as a separate disc with the product eg your graphics card will come bundled with a disc with all the drivers you will need. You will have to purchase an OS and install it in the usual way, this to me is the biggest drawback in building you own as XP or Visa are quite expensive wheras a ready built sysem will almost always inclde an OS in the price.

Shutt1e 12:54 19 May 07