Building a PC

somner90 17:06 25 Jan 14

Hello I am building a PC

My friend has been helping me but has decided he cba to help now. Here are the parts i'm going to order: click here trying to find out if the CPU is compatible with the Motherboard.

My goal is to build a PC for less than £500, i've never built a PC before but I have completed a BTEC National Diploma at level 3 with PPP and I believe i'd be able to do it.

Is there anything else I need to do before ordering the parts other than checking the compatibility of the CPU and the motherboard?

I'm

rdave13 17:41 25 Jan 14

CPU is compatible. " 1.Support for Intel® Core™ i7 processors/Intel® Core™ i5 processors/Intel® Core™ i3 processors/Intel® Pentium® processors/Intel® Celeron® processors in the LGA1150 package" From here.

Your CPU is Socket LGA1150 Processor .

rdave13 17:53 25 Jan 14

Just go through the list making sure everything is compatible (search using google) for ram etc and also use this PSU calculator which will give a rough guide to what Wattage you will need. I always up the calculator by a 100 Watts to be on the safe side. I've not studied the list fully but your mobo is a micro ATX so will fit an ordinary ATX case as well as the smaller size.

somner90 18:44 25 Jan 14

What psu calculator?

Also I had a lot of trouble finding out whether my CPU and mobo were compatible, no doubt i'll struggle checking that the rest is compatible with each other, any tips? i.e. what parts need to be compatible with which?

somner90 19:35 25 Jan 14

Okay I need to check if the Graphics card and Mobo are compatible, then I need to check the cpu fan and cpu will fit together okay.

Mortherboard is compatible with the ram, HD and wireless card CPU Fan and CPU are compatible

To do list: will it all fit in the case? Will the PSU support all the parts? Get a RW CD Drive

rdave13 21:01 25 Jan 14