Building new PC, how does this spec look?

Ironman556 01:24 23 Jun 03

Hi, this is my first build so I want to make sure I get it right. Please give any feedback you can.

Monitor: LG 1710B click here Local Retailer £340

Case: Enermax click here £50

PSU: 450W Levicom click here £58 (Are these noisy? Should I got for an Enermax instead?)

Motherboard: Asus A7N8X Deluxe click here Local Retailer £100

CPU: Athlon 2800XP retail probably from click here ~£130

CPU Cooler: Either: Zalman 5100Cu click here £36

Or: AeroCool Golden Crown Cooler click here £18

Graphics: Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro 128MB click here £143

DVD Rom: Toshiba click here £31

CDRW: Black Plextor (Possibly from Dabs.com)

Hard Drive: 60Gb Seagate

Have I forgotten anything? (Got keyboard/mouse and floppy already) Thanks. Ironman.

hugh-265156 01:50 23 Jun 03

looks tasty Ironman556,try and get the monitor for a bit less and spend the extra on a larger hd.

jimv7 08:41 23 Jun 03

Looks good, but I second huggyg71, but instead of a larger hard drive I would go for a second drive, then all your backups can go on the second disk, remembering to burn to cd for that extra security.

Ironman556 09:33 23 Jun 03

I have a second drive in my current computer, I was thinking that next time I format this I could swap it over. It's a 60GB Seagate @5400 RPM, which I put in at Christmas. Is it worth swapping or would I be better to put a faster one in?

I also forgot to mention RAM. The mainboard's dual DDR, so I'm after 2x 512MB PC 3200 modules. I'm told that I don't need to buy matched memory as long as I order 2 sticks at once so they're from the same batch. Would I be better to get branded and matched memory or would it not make a significant difference?

I've often seen Crucial on this forum as the way to go with memory, but what's the difference between their "64Meg x 64" and "64Meg x 72"?

Thanks, Ironman.

Bodi 10:07 23 Jun 03