Building my own PC

Waaaclan 18:12 09 Aug 09

I am a first time builder and am planning to build a PC and I have several problems I need help with.

1. My motherboard is microATX, is there anything wrong with this? Are they worse than normal ATX motherboards?

2. Is there anyway I can see if the parts I am getting are all compatible with each other, or will all hard drives, wireless-G adapters, PSU's, and graphics cards work with virtually any case and motherboard?

3. Will buying the following parts (I know I'm missing a PSU) for a total of 392 british pounds (650 us dollars) be a good deal?

* AMD Phenom X4 9650 2.3GHz Socket AM2+ 2MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
* Asus M3A76-CM 760G Socket AM2+ onboard VGA DVI 8 channel audio mATX Motherboard
* Antec 300 Three Hundred Black Case - No PSU
* Samsung EcoGreen F2 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 32MB Cache - OEM
* Tenda Wireless-G PCI Adapter
* Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 HyperX Memory CL5 2.2V
* MSI HD 4870 1GB GDDR5 DVI HDMI VGA Out PCI-E Graphics Card

Thank you in advance

GaT7 18:27 09 Aug 09

1. Smaller in size, fewer expansion slots (& not very good for overclocking)

2. Tell us what your looking at (with links) & we'll let you know what's compatible & what's not!

3. That spec looks OK for the money - about par for the course. More importantly, they are all compatible with each other. You missed couple of key components? The PSU & optical drive.

G

GaT7 18:34 09 Aug 09

And, perhaps an OS too?

Official CPU support list click here, mentions that BIOS v0302 or later is needed in order to be compatible with the CPU you've chosen. G

BBW 20:25 09 Aug 09

1st Time builder. Don't consider overclocking. It will cause you problems when you trying to get things up and running. You really should consider an operating system in your costing.

RyanTech 20:33 09 Aug 09