Building and Maintenance CD/DVD or Book

Ex plorer 12:22 05 May 06

Hi can someone point me to a good all round Book on PC building and Maintenance.
I know there are many CDs out there also that give you guides my last one I bought showed how to dismantle and put a PC back together.
I am still a novice but I now want to move on to understanding the MOBO Cards etc.

Ex

amonra 12:55 05 May 06

Have you explored your local tech. college ? They often run courses for this sort of thing and give far more useful info than any book can provide.

Ex plorer 13:20 05 May 06

Hi I live out in Yorkshire in a small village, my local PC learning outlets do not cover Maintenance courses. I agree in what you are saying but…
I won’t go into detail but I have to do this at home just now.
So E Books or the old fashioned paper ones will have to do for the time being.
So I need help in that direction.

howard63 17:52 05 May 06

I suggest you do not need books or cd/dvd's. Either get hold of an old pc and take it to pieces noting where everything goes that is how I learnt or buy the bits and put 1 together we will guide you on anything you get stuck on.

Curio 19:15 05 May 06
  Fruit Bat /\0/\ 19:16 05 May 06

Maintenance of motherboards a cards drives etc. are impossible without extensive electronic knowledge and equipment and certainly not worth the cost of repairing.

PCs are like "LEGO", clip together parts.
The hard part is not putting the parts together, its understanding how to get them to "talk" to each other instead of conflicting (rather like Human Beings).

The net and google is your best source of information.

for instance understanding the BIOS helps to undersnd what and how a motherboard works. click here

Totally-braindead 20:01 05 May 06