Building a linux PC

OdinOfAsgard 15:33 07 Mar 04

I have decided to build a Slackware (linux powered) PC. But as I have never built a PC before I need a little advide. I have stripped and rebuilt one of my old PCs before(I was bored and had nothing to do) so I know what is in them and how to assemble the parts; what I am unsure about is what happens after I first turn on the new machine (what is BIOS and how do I configure it, when do I install the drivers and the OS). I have formatted my old PC when I had win95 all I had to do then was put in the boot disc and load the OS, is it similar?

halfwit 16:08 07 Mar 04

I wouldn't recommend this,having tried it and had all sorts of grief.Linux is not really the easiest OS to work with,and eventually went back to the inevitable Windows which is why I'm typing this and not swearing at the computer 'cos it wont do what i want it to.

allstar 17:12 07 Mar 04

OdinOfAsgard

I wouldnt be put off just because Linux does not have off the shelf installation like windows.

However, i would suggest that you do not have this pc as your main one until you have got all hardware up and running. There are a few ( maybe many) forum users who use Linux and will most probably be able to help you.

Paranoid Android 17:27 07 Mar 04

You can get Linux distros that do most of the work for you. However Linux is definitely NOT Windows, and you need to plan an extended learning curve and understand that you may not have your PC up and running straight away. Getting everything 'working' is only the beginning - you then need to understand the OS so you can make effective use of your system.

Look at your currect PS installation and work out haow many of your applications you have Linux versions of.

Many of the installation problems are hardware specific, particularly modems it seems, so try to track down all the drivers you need before you start.