Building first computer - advice?

Jakey boy 17:50 02 Dec 03

Ok, I'm toying with the idea of building a computer from scratch. It would be a hobby/project, but I'm lost in the maze of mobos and CPU's etc. I would prefer a P4 system, and intend to purchase components gradually. If I select a case that I like the look of, can anyone advise me on mobo, cpu, etc? I'm a complete novice at this, but I think I am confident/competent enough to take it on, since I'm no stranger to upgrading memory, expansion cards etc, etc. Any advice welcomed.

sil_ver 18:19 02 Dec 03

Building a PC from scratch can be as expensive as buying one that's ready to go. As for components there are as many options as there are people to offer advice.

minter 18:22 02 Dec 03

You would be wasting your time buying the parts a bit at a time.

You need to get your computer up and running. It is no point buying a case and a motherboard and then waiting a few weeks to buy a cpu.

By the time you have bought all your bits and pieces put them together and then run your computer you are stuffed if one of the pieces does not work.

The best way is to work out how much cash you have available, and then work out what you can afford.

Remember that there are so many flexibles in a self-build.

My main aim would be to get the best motherboard, cpu, memory, and graphics card and save, if necessary on the case and other bits and bobs.

Do not go for the latest motherboard, cpu, etc. you pay a very high premium for this.

AMD is cheaper than P4, but personally I stick to P4 and have built a few.

Your first is the worst, because you will be terrified you are going to fry the damn thing. But if you use your loaf and take things a step at a time you will have no problems.

minter 18:27 02 Dec 03

As sil_ver says it is cheaper to buy a ready made system from a reliable manufacturer.

The thing about building your own is you can stuff what you want in. Better quality, and to your own exact needs.