Build your own virgin

shandykid 22:11 22 Feb 03

Hi - I'm gonna try to build a pc. As it's my first time i don't want to spend loads of cash on 'posh' components - i'm really doing it for interest, so i'd like to keep them cheap and cheerful. Could someone out there give me a detailed list of components i'll need (say AMD Duron processor a suitable motherboard, graphics card etc etc)...so i can go and buy them from my local pc shop. I've had a read of click here but would like to buy a book that i can have on the table as i'm building. Any recommendations?
Thanks.

jazzypop 22:16 22 Feb 03

If you click here and click on 'create a custom PC', you will get a good feel for which components you will need, and which go together.

jazzypop 22:18 22 Feb 03

You might also find this site useful - click here

As for books, try and get to a good local bookshop or PCWorld, and have a browse.

Djohn 22:18 22 Feb 03

PCA did a "Build your own PC" spread over three months with all the information you are likely to need.

Oct. Nov. Dec. 2002 issues, I would think you can still get the back copy's from the editorial side if you give them a call or e-mail. J.

jazzypop 22:24 22 Feb 03

Click the 'Magazine' link at the top of this page, then the drop-down list under 'Series'. You can buy just the articles that Djohn is referring to.

tbh72 22:26 22 Feb 03

It's important to look at your budget, once you have this you can then goto a computer shop & select your components, any half descent shop will sell you compatible components suited to your build.

Most of the major thing's you will have to do will be with regard the motherboard eg, plugging cables, some of which are very small. Your new motherboard will come with a manual showing you a "MAP" of the connection & settings.

I'm sure there are a number of people here whom can offer you real help & advice depending upon your area, where you live!!!