To build or not to build

Legolas 23:41 10 Mar 06

I have been building comuter systems for a few years and really enjoy doing it.

I still get great satisfaction from seeing the system up and running especially when I have had problems with the build and overcame them (usually with the help of this forum).

If a friend or member of my family mention getting a new computer I normally jump in and volunteer to build one for them.

I do it because I enjoy it and I dont take any payment. Recently I have began to realise that I can buy a comparable ready built system as cheap if not cheaper than I can build one so although I still want to build for people I feel guilty in doing so as they can probable get a professional build for the same money.

What do others think to build or not to build?

Stuartli 23:50 10 Mar 06

As you have obviously built up experience in building systems, why should your systems prove any less professional quality wise than from elsewhere?

The only snag, as far as I can see, is that if anything goes wrong (and for whatever reason) your telephone will start to ring....:-)

Legolas 23:58 10 Mar 06

it does I can assure you.

When you build someone a system they seem to think they also get a lifetime support. lol

gudgulf 00:06 11 Mar 06

Look closely at what's on offer from the major companies......you can't compete on cost alone.

But you can build to exactly the specification the "customer" wants......furthermore you will be providing all the software complete.No hidden partitions or backup discs.There are plenty of threads on here that would be easily resolved if the poster had all the relevant software to hand.

I do the same thing for friends and neighbours.....usually upgrading,but building too.

Do it for your own interest and fun......including sorting the problems....but do it anyway.If they would rather buy a big companies products then that is entirely their choice.