Build a computer application

Sillyfool 23:00 13 Feb 03

I am wanting to build my own computer application. However don't no which programme to use. Therefore, does anyone know of any computer programmes which have a thirty day trial in which I can test and see whether they are applicable for my programme before I purchase this programme.

Any help would be most appreciated. Url's of where to get the trial software would also be most appreciated.

VoG™ 23:07 13 Feb 03

What sort of application? What will this program do? What programming languages are you familiar with?

davidg_richmond 23:15 13 Feb 03

i use Borland C++ Builder which i got free on a magazine coverdisk some time ago (look around for a bit if you want a bargain like that). its easy to use, lets you add forms and buttons, has an online help with example C++ code too.

if you're a complete beginner try Visual Basic from Microsoft, it is a bit easier to learn than C++.

afraid i dont know which have trials though

Sillyfool 23:20 13 Feb 03

The programme is to provide ratings for horse racing.

Basis of programme will need to include database structure but be more developed than Access.

Each Race will be need to calculated for each horse and adjust the ratings depending on the course and the difficulty; the distance and going.

There will needs to be a function to show races not yet run. The races will be include Course, Date, Time, Going, Distance Prize Money and Runners.

Depending upon the number of runners, they will be rows available to enter the horses in the race. Depending upon the Distance and Going and COurse attributes will be entered in for each horse. The system will compute these attrbutes and return a value for each horse.

With regards to the languages it doesn't matter; if need be I will learn the relative language. I would just like to find an appropriate programme.

Sorry, if this post is long. I thought I would include as much information so anyone could help me.