Buffalo Air Stations WYR-G54 Signal Dropouts

modelman 23:36 06 Feb 06

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to networking and after purchasing 2 of the above Buffalo routers I thought all was fine until this problem started.
The routers were purchased with matched 54mbps WLl2-CB-G54L cardbus notebook adapters. Connection was fine with 54mb recorded with occasional drops to 1mb but no real loss of connection.
The problems really started when I added a Safecom usb2 adapter to my main PC.
Connection was a easy using WPA-PSK and 54mbps. Transfer of video and internet between machines was fine.
The problem is the USB adapter keeps dropping the connection every couple of minutes or when it feels like it. I first thought the USB adapter was faulty but have since tried two other makes with the same problem. This issue seems worse when the machine is left static for a short time.
In case it was a clitch on my desktop I placed the adapters in the laptop and the dropouts instantly started on this machine.
I now know that it can only be the router but what is causing this?
Why will it only function reliably with its own make of cardbus adapter? I have read of this incompatibility issue and signal dropouts with Buffalo routers but surely not with Belkin, Safecom and Netgear USB adapters.
The experiment was repeated with the second router with the exact same results.
Since my wife uses MSN very often this constant loss of connection annoys her as she loses her contacts and has to re-log back on each time.

Both machines are running Win XP-SP2
All settings are configured by windows and not 3rd party adapter software
There is no outside interference on the channel being used.
Everything functions fine other than these constant dropouts.
Latest Firmware on router ver 1.10

Questions – Is this a common Buffalo router issue? Could it be a windows related problem? Could the components just not be compatible?