Budget Gaming PC

RJack 13:59 11 Jul 08

Hi all,

I know this subject has been done to death but i'm looking for a Gaming PC that will play all the latest games.

I'm not really in the position to build my own as i have never done this before and i'm worried i might mess it up.

I'm looking for ideas on a good spec for around £500 - £600 as i also have to buy a monitor on top. I am currently looking at the Samsung SM-245B Plus on Overclockers. Is 5ms good or should i be looking at something lower? What effect does this have on gaming?

click here

If i did build my own pc I understand that you can get mobo bundles from Nova Tech. Does these come all ready assembled or do you still need to assemble them? This is the bit that worries me the most if i did go down this route.

In terms of websites i have been told Cyperpower or Mesh Computers do good gaming PC's.

Thanks in advance

RJack 14:18 11 Jul 08

Sorry just to add

I was looking at something similar to this spec

click here

This obviously takes me over my budget & there is no monitor.

citadel 18:51 11 Jul 08

that monitor is excellent, if you want something a bit cheaper samsung 226bw v2. a 22" make sure its the v2 version if you get one. scan.co.uk have them.
for gaming you could pick a system at cyberpower and customise to your butget.
most important to get a good psu enermax, corsair, seasonic, tagan.
an e8400 core 2 duo
4g ram if you get vista
hard drive
p45 motherboard if possible as these are the latest and have pci express 2.
graphics card ati 4850 or 4870 these are cheaper than nvidea and have similar or better performance.

RJack 14:07 15 Jul 08

Thanks for the update

I've had kinda of a re-think & am currently looking at this spec PC as they throw in a monitor with

click here

Am i still better off getting a custom one and buying the Samsung SM-245B or will the monitor that comes with is package be sufficient.