BT voyager 210 modem router

morris948 20:45 02 Aug 07

Hi
I am a novice at networking so please be patient.
i have a BT voyager 210 modem router that i have been given, and i would like to replace my ageing voyager 105 USB modem, but when i connect it up, the PC does not recognise it.
The DSL status on the PC has red arrows and says no modem attached, but the status on the 210 has DSL steady green and USB steady green.

I have downloaded the USB drivers, my system is Win XP svc pk 2, i dont have an ethernet connection on my motherboard, i have connected it to the USB port.
So why does it not connect.
Have i missed something here?

ambra4 02:21 03 Aug 07

Did you uninstall the 105 modem before installing the 210 modem ???

If the DSL light continues to flash for more that a minute, check your ADSL cable and microfiters,

Ensure no other broadband equipment is installed on your computer.

morris948 08:35 03 Aug 07

I have uninstalled the 105 driver rebooted and installed the 210 USB driver, the system recognized the device OK.
DSL and USB lights are steady green, so tried to open firefox browser and it just times out, so i cannot get onto the internet, i had to uninstall the 210 and re-install the 105 modem so as i could reply to this thread.

there is no other equipment connected apart from my phone and filters are fine.
Any other ideas i can try?

ambra4 12:12 03 Aug 07

Look at that this thread on the helpdesk

click here

morris948 13:22 03 Aug 07

I did respond to this post as well, but no reply as to how he got it working, only clue is that he used an ethernet cable, maybe this is what is needed, i have ordered an interface card for my PC for RJ45 connection.
But the issue is: the 210 has a USB and an Ethernet connection, why cant it work with a USB, after all the Voyager 105 has USB and this works, can anyone tell me why this is?

Fawaz 00:12 07 Aug 07
  morris948 17:19 28 Aug 07

sorry for the long delay. holidays and all that.