BT Hub - page cannot be displayed - IP address

adgesmart 21:21 06 Sep 06

Hi,
Having real problems here.
Every time I type in my IP adrress I get 'page cannot be displayed'
I know it's entered correctly (no www. etc) but it still doesn't work.
Maybe it's a firewall problem, but I've switched off my windows firewall and not sure if the hub has a firewall that I can disable?

My main aim is to access BT hub manager to change some settings (get high ID on eMule to be blunt!), I cannot find a way of accessing this as i get 'page cannot be displayed' when I follow the manual.

I'm a bit of a novice I suppose so please bear with me!

Thanks in advance

STREETWORK 21:45 06 Sep 06

Check the 'Readme' file located in 'program file\emule.

STREETWORK 21:45 06 Sep 06

oh yes here as well

click here

adgesmart 22:01 06 Sep 06

Thanks that makes me think it might a firewall problem maybe?...but might help if i provided a bit more info
I had a belkin wireless router and was able to configure this OK for eMule...so i'm thinking it must be the BT hub...so...does anyone know I disable the BT hub firewall? (bearing in mind my problems in accessing hub manager)

amateurann 08:54 07 Sep 06

Are you talking about the new BT Home Hub? Correct me if I am wrong I have only had my hub for a month but if I understand correctly it has a dynamic IP address so it is not fixed changing every time it reconnects. Is that any help? It also does not have an inbuilt firewall. I have the Norton package included as part of option 2. Sorry I don't know anything about emule.

adgesmart 10:53 07 Sep 06

Thanks it is the new BT home hub so that does help with the firewall question.
I think I changed the settings so I now have a static IP address...but it was changing every time I connected at first.

Are you able to bring up the hub manager page?
I think if I can get to this then it might solve my problem.

amateurann 15:37 07 Sep 06