Bt Broadband USB Modem - persistant line drop

ccfchris 16:14 11 Jan 06

Ok, So here it goes. Over recent months my bt broadband modem drops its connection every few minutes (the modem turns to training mode or it does not recognise that the conection has been lost at all) If anybody can help me in anyway, i would be grateful. Im running on a Dell Dimension 9150, with windows media centre and the modem model which I am using is the "BT Voyager USB ADSL Modem" I have read the forum topic on here:

click here

which appears very similar to the problems i am expierencing. Im not that technically aware when it comes to computers, so any help/advice would be great cheers

Diemmess 16:37 11 Jan 06

The sort of trouble you are having suggests (to me) a poor signal somehow.
Whether it is inadequate or faulty filtering, bad connection, or even a poor BT line?
I would check these before interfering with your present software and the Voyager

amonra 16:42 11 Jan 06

How long does the drop-out last ? Will it self-restore after x minutes ? Any tell tale crackling noises on the telephone line ? As Diemmess says, check all external things before messing with settings etc.

jam_uk 17:06 11 Jan 06

I had this problem for a couple of months why my ISP tried to fix it. Nothing to do with my PC, filters, internal wiring etc. Was to do with quality of signal sent through. In the end an engineer was called out by my isp to the exchange, he put us on a better line and since then no drops.

Also modem power can be an issue when using a usb modem.

Do you get the drop outs at certain time of the day?

ccfchris 17:25 11 Jan 06

Yes it can be inconsistant at times, some days not a problem then others its can be persistant the whole day. Im trying to fix this on behalf of my dad because he doesn't really know what hes doing, I will get him to ring BT and ask for out line to be checked etc.

I have tried switching filters and reinstalled all modem drivers and software but the problem reoccurs.