BT Broadband Problems

GlandularBeaver 10:49 10 Jul 06

Hi Guys & Gals .....

As I'm a complete novice with these sort of things I'll do my best write it down clearly...

Exactly 2 weeks ago today my BT line was upgraded from 2Mb - 8Mb.Up untill I upgraded I never had harldy any problems.When I upgraded, I was told by BT for upto 10 days I might get random dissconnections while they speed test the line to get the best possile speed.But it's been well over the time and on average I'm geting dissconnected 3 or 4 times a day and its completely random..

I've been on the phone to BT alot of times and they have said there is no problem with the line, or modem so I'm at a complete loss.

All I do know is when I get dissconnected the DSL and ETHERNET light on the modem flash like mad, then after no-more than 10 seconds it stops flashing and I can connect again...

My Modem/Router is a ...

BT Voyager 2091 Wireless ADSL Router...

Any help would be very much appreciated..

johnnyrocker 10:52 10 Jul 06

a house visit by bt would seem in order as it seems like possible loose wiring connections

johnny.

spuds 11:14 10 Jul 06

I had similar problems, which turned out to be corroded terminals in a BT box. Initially BT stated that their line checks were perfect, but it took two engineers, and two visits before they did anything!.

Check the boxes and wire yourself (if possible). Then do an automatic line check via BT faults. You could also try 170170 then press 2 for a quiet line check.

Graham ® 11:36 10 Jul 06

Take off the front lower panel of the BT Master socket and connect the router to the socket inside. This will disconnect all extension wiring whilst you test for disconnections.

8Mb is more sensitive to extension wiring.

GlandularBeaver 15:14 10 Jul 06

Thanks for all your replies people...

The weird thing is I've been using the computer most of the day so far and my wife has been playing on xbox live for the last 4 hours and we havent had 1 problem.