Broadband router question

Saintmoly 22:32 03 May 06

I am a novice when it comes to all this so I could do with some advice. I will try and keep it simple.

I have a phone line next to my PC and have a broadband connection with Wanadoo through my BT phone line.

If I buy a product like the Linksys WRT54GS will this replace my broadband modem which Wanadoo sent me? & Does it connect to my PC with an ethernet cable?
PC world have an offer on this product at the moment which includes a USB adaptor, does this mean I could do away with the ethernet cable and the router will connect wirelessly to the PC via the USB adaptor?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

ade.h 22:55 03 May 06

The WRT54GS is - if it is a derivative of the WRT54G - a cable/DSL router, and is therefore totally unsuitable for an ADSL service. It has no modem component and is designed to work with a cable modem. You require an ADSL modem/router which you must use without your existing modem. The latter should be removed from your PC and its software/drivers must be uninstalled.

You can use a router entirely wirelessly, BUT: you must use an Ethernet cable when performing initial setup via a client PC's browser and whenever you adjust a setting that affects the wireless link (including security settings and ADSL connection settings). Therefore, you must bear this need in mind when positioning your router if you do not have a laptop. A laptop would allow configuration to be performed at any time regardless of the router's placement.

By theway; router placement should be carefully considered to avoid interference.

ade.h 22:57 03 May 06

click here for confirmation of the WRT54GS's unsuitability.

mgmcc 23:51 03 May 06

The Linksys WAG54GS is the equivalent product with combined ADSL modem. The PC World offer includes Linksys routers with and without ADSL modem, although I'm not sure of the actual reference number for the ADSL version in their offer.

Saintmoly 07:47 04 May 06