//some 3rd party need geo

broadband hardware - a bit of advise needed

Tecno Dan 20:42 10 Mar 03

good evening all,

well a month back I got the good news that BT were going to enable our local exchange.. wahey

Now the time is coming close for when we will be activated and I am yet to sort out what hardware I should get.

I have a growing network at home at the moment and I have been advised that the sensible option would be to get a router.

Could some one please check that the bellow router is fine and will do the job on my homenetwork running TCP/IP with a X10 hub. Although it looks like it has a 10/100 switch, if i plugged all the computers into the router its self would they each get X100 (across each port) or would the X100 be shared across each port?

click here

Apart from the router I presume I will need 2 micro filters, and a standard RJ-45 conector CAT5 cable?

Any thing else I need?

I hope you guys can help me out, as im a student and cant afford to mess it up :)

thanks in advance

cheers,

Dan

graham 21:05 10 Mar 03

Don't know about the bellow router, never heard of them. The filters (2) and the cable should come with the modem and drivers.

Tecno Dan 21:17 10 Mar 03

hi graham, the router is for use with my network, so that it acts as a central location for all the computers to access the internet from. Saves one computer having to be turned on all the time.

The router has a modem built into it.

anyone got any ideas about my first post?

thanks

Dan

Good evening graham, right first things first, although I have never used the above product (a D-link, not a bellow) they have a fairly good name, and I'm sure the product should do the job you are after.